A Peaceful Parenting Promise

So… I saw a meme posted earlier today that inspired me to create a meme of my very own! The text of the original meme went like this:

“My promise to my children: I am your mother. I will stalk you, flip out on you, lecture you, drive you insane, be your worst nightmare, and hunt you down like a bloodhound when needed because I LOVE YOU! When you understand that, I will know you are a responsible adult. You will NEVER find someone who loves, prays, cares and worries about you more than I do.”

My first thought was, “I’d get a restraining order on this person!”  After a good laugh at my first thought, my second thought was sadness about the tragedy of a relationship like this.  Is the parent-child relationship doomed to mistrust and contention like this…in the name of love?  Can fear and mistrust exist where there is love?  Is there another promise that could be made that builds on relationship and trust rather than fear and mistrust?

I think so.  I took a crack at creating my very own meme, and here it is!  Tell me what you think.

Promise to Children

I wonder if it will go viral!  🙂

Be well and be kind,

Marji

Marji Zintz
The Peaceful Parenting Whisperer
Helping heal and transform parent-child relationships and general life coaching
Office:  845 – 657 – 3111

 

Leave a Reply

